How do you Mimic an Armature

Post your XNALara tutorials here!

Moderators: Runa, Dazzy

User avatar
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:07 am
Location: South Africa

How do you Mimic an Armature

Postby daventry » Sun Nov 09, 2014 8:18 am

How do you Mimic a Model, i want to give a Poseable Model a Better Rigged Armature

I want to put a Low Poly Poseable Worm Model onto a High Poly Armature Poseable Rope Model, hence the Result works in the end, but the New Worm Poseable Model is having a Spasm Attack, How do i Match the Poly/Vertices of the Old Worm Model with the High Poly Rope.

I Loaded a High Poly Poseable Rope Model into Blender in witch i deleted except for the Armature, then i Loaded and dragged a Low Poly Worm Poseable Model over the Armature. All went well after Exporting, except now in XPS, the New Worm Model is moving weird and skew, instead of moving with the Bones. The Worm and Rope Models were both perfectly straight Models, i just Resized the Low Poly Worm Model to match the same size as the Rope.

Advice from Love2Raid
- import the rope model in Blender, don't move it around or resize it
- import the worm, you can move the worm so that it aligns perfectly with the bones of the rope and even resize it, that's ok
- delete the bones of the worm model
- now delete all the vertex groups from the worm, make sure they are all gone
- then select the worm, press shift and select the rope also (I think this is the right order, not 100% sure anymore, could be the other way around...)
- go to object -> scripts -> boneweight copy and click on OK (don't change anything)
- delete the rope, now you only have the worm model and the bones from the rope left
- export and you're done

I tried another Model and the Result went Swimmingly.
http://daventrychris.deviantart.com/art ... -497273922
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showpos ... tcount=269
Last edited by daventry on Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:40 am, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:07 am
Location: South Africa

How do you Match a Static Model with New Bones

Postby daventry » Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:50 am

My previous Tutorial is based on Mimicking an Armature to a Static Model, witch it seems doesent always work with most static models.

So How do i Save a Model that has High or Less Poly Textures witch needs Less or More Bones.
Last edited by daventry on Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6058
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 6:10 am
Custom Rank: w

Re: Looking for a Tutorial and Help

Postby Love2Raid » Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:23 pm

Here is a tutorial about rigging a rope:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=334&p=70789#p70789
Image

User avatar
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:07 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Looking for a Tutorial and Help

Postby daventry » Sat Feb 21, 2015 1:00 am

Your Tutorial is Fantastic, two questions though. :D

Doesent XPS11 Auto Weight (Weight Paint) the Model when you Export with generic_item.mesh.ascii(Ext), hence no need for an explanation in Weight Painting in witch i dont get anyway since i see the Model in Blender with a Blue/Red Color. :oops:

How exactly do i check the Vertex Group/Armature in the end, since to me the Bones move outside of the Model in witch i assume i have either too many bones or too little for my Low Poly Model. I gave it 8 Bones. :?

What i did
http://s21.postimg.org/o7etkvh2t/Screen_Shot01.jpg
http://s21.postimg.org/n6ekvr039/Screen_Shot02.jpg
http://s21.postimg.org/jbb6t6gxh/Screen_Shot03.jpg
http://s21.postimg.org/jpciss111/Screen_Shot04.jpg
http://s21.postimg.org/dporp4g8l/Screen_Shot05.jpg
http://s21.postimg.org/qicvp1rud/Screen_Shot06.jpg

Result Model
https://www.sendspace.com/file/jjk29v

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6058
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 6:10 am
Custom Rank: w

Re: How do you Mimic an Armature

Postby Love2Raid » Sun Feb 22, 2015 6:21 am

I replied here, because you tend to delete your own threads. :pi:
Image

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests