Blender Cycles + XnaLara Tutorials

Post your XNALara tutorials here!

Moderators: Dazzy, Runa

Vonman
Custom Rank: Oil King

Blender Cycles + XnaLara Tutorials

Post by Vonman »

Hello Ladies and Gents, Boys and Gals! :)

Here is the basic node settings that include textures, bump, and alpha to get you started :) I have no experience making tutorials, so I just write what's most important. I'll keep revising this tutorial based on your feedback. Feel free to ask if you have any questions! ^^

Also, I'm no expert, just doing my best to help. I'm still learning myself. So I apologize beforehand if there are any mistakes :lol:

:!: version used for this tutorial is Blender 2.63. Remember, always update to the latest version of Blender as more features and bug fixes will be implemented for Cycles.

NOTES:

i) If there is no alpha used, simply remove the Mix Shader and Transparent nodes, and connect the Diffuse BDSF output directly to Material Output > Surface.

ii) To add the mix node: Add Node (Shift + A or Right Mouse) ---> Color ---> Mix

iii) The value on the mix node controls the strength of the bump effects. Raise the number higher to increase bump visibility, or lower to reduce it.

iv) In case the bump doesn't work (so far never happened to me but just in case), you can also switch from "Mix" to "Multiply". Not sure what the difference is, I will try research into it.

:!: IMPORTANT :!:
It is highly suggested that you DO NOT use .png format image. Cycles doesn't have a proper support for .png, therefore using it might give you faulty result. If the image is .png, please convert it to other format like .dds or .tga

Next Tutorial, I'll teach you how to mix shaders! ;)
Last edited by Vonman on Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
iheartibuki
Custom Rank: Fappy Bird

Re: Blender Cycles + XnaLara Tutorials

Post by iheartibuki »

Man, I can give you a big hug right now! :hug: Looking forward to more :D