Trouble exporting OBJ with materials

General discussion and questions about XNALara go here.

Moderators: ObscureMemories, Runa, Love2Raid

Otter-Croft
Custom Rank: vaguely competent

Trouble exporting OBJ with materials

Post by Otter-Croft »

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to the xnaLara world, but getting the hang of it pretty quickly. What I've been doing is exporting the scenes as OBJs with materials and then bringing them into After Effects for lighting and movement. Looks beautiful and worked like a charm for the first few times.

I'm just running into trouble with a particular model. All the textures show up fine in xnaLara, but when I go to export the scene as an OBJ with materials I get the following message: 'Could not save model. Could not find file ...' etc. And it stops halfway through copying the materials and geometry.

All the materials for the model are in the data folder (and named correctly), but the path listed in the pop-up doesn't match mine. I even tried manually relinking each .tga in the material editor panel and that didn't seem to fix it either. Is there something I'm overlooking? I know I need to redirect where the program is looking to pull materials, I just don't know where that could be.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-OC
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Running xnaLara 11.8 off Windows 7 Bootcamp on 2012 Retina Macbook Pro.
Treating/animating final renders in After Effects via Element 3D.
Anx

Re: Trouble exporting OBJ with materials

Post by Anx »

Some time ago, I stumbled into the same problem (Running XNALara_XPS 11.8 on Windows 8.1 with Nvidia GTX GPU).
I analyzed the model and found the mistake.

Like you written, the path listed in the pop-up also doesn't match mine. Some porters has coded the path to the textures, inside the mesh file, as "absolute path" to your own hard drive, and not "relatve" to the model. That's wrong!