Blender General Questions

General discussion and questions about XNALara go here.

Moderators: Runa, ObscureMemories, Love2Raid

Porter
Online
User avatar
Posts: 3511
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Custom Rank: Skynet Status

Blender General Questions

Postby ProtocolX27 » Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:10 pm

Not sure if I should make this generic or not. I know I'll have more questions down the road. XD


I recently did some hard drive organizing and moved all of my XNALara projects. When I open them in Blender now, naturally the textures are missing since they were referenced from their previous source.

Is there a way to update the texture references in Blender? It seems like it would be a standard option, if so I don't know how to find it.

Thanks :)
Image

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6519
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:59 am
Location: The Land of the Free
Custom Rank: Fappy Bird

Re: Blender General Questions

Postby iheartibuki » Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:37 pm

Good question, I'd like to know to answer too. I've had a few instances where after I change some folders all I see is pink for textures, LOL! Sure would be too tedious to change the folder reference for each mesh. :)
"They’re not only moron but also Galapagosian Lolita Complexed Chicken."





Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6072
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 6:10 am
Custom Rank: w

Re: Blender General Questions

Postby Love2Raid » Mon Nov 26, 2012 3:32 pm

Not 100% sure, but why don't you try:

File -> External Data -> Make All Paths Relative

All paths for the textures will be changed from 'absolute' to 'relative' then. Make sure the blend file and the textures are in the same folder, I think that helps too. Now save your blend file (give it another name to be sure). Then open it again and see what happens. ;)

Another option is to 'pack' the images inside your .blend file, but this won't work anymore since you have already changed the directories.
Image
Waiting for DJMax Respect... :please:

Porter
Online
User avatar
Posts: 3511
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Custom Rank: Skynet Status

Re: Blender General Questions

Postby ProtocolX27 » Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:29 pm

Love2Raid wrote:Not 100% sure, but why don't you try:

File -> External Data -> Make All Paths Relative


Awesome, actually not quite this, but close enough since it lead to the option I needed. I tried the option you mentioned and it said it failed to find them, but right next to that option is 'Find Missing Files' which allows browsing to the correct directory. :D

Thanks, Love2Raid :high:
Image

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6072
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 6:10 am
Custom Rank: w

Re: Blender General Questions

Postby Love2Raid » Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:53 pm

Oh, great! Glad it helped, in a way. :P :high:

But dude... get yourself an avatar asap, you're naked! :o :P
Image
Waiting for DJMax Respect... :please:

Porter
Online
User avatar
Posts: 3511
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Custom Rank: Skynet Status

Re: Blender General Questions

Postby ProtocolX27 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 7:01 pm

Love2Raid wrote:Oh, great! Glad it helped, in a way. :P :high:

But dude... get yourself an avatar asap, you're naked! :o :P


Whatever it takes to get to the answers, :XD:

okay, okay, no more nekkid av! ;)
Image

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6519
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:59 am
Location: The Land of the Free
Custom Rank: Fappy Bird

Re: Blender General Questions

Postby iheartibuki » Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:47 pm

Ok, my turn to ask a question. :D How the heck do you split the model exactly in half? I'm not talking about eyeballing the model in edit mode, b, then selecting half the mesh and splitting the selection. That doesn't really work for me since if the mesh wasn't modeled in halves you end up with sections of the split protruding (preserved faces I guess). I once saw this video on YouTube where the guy used a flat plane to exactly split the model in half but there was no audio, no text, it was done so fast and the video itself was blurry (seriously, I don't know why people even bother). :pi:

Anyway, any answers will be deeply appreciated. :D Thanks!
"They’re not only moron but also Galapagosian Lolita Complexed Chicken."





Porter
Online
User avatar
Posts: 3511
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Custom Rank: Skynet Status

Re: Blender General Questions

Postby ProtocolX27 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:28 am

This one has some text overlays, not sure if its the one you saw already. I'm not sure if the plane is joined and then deleted forcing the two halfs to then be independent meshes or not.

Image

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6519
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:59 am
Location: The Land of the Free
Custom Rank: Fappy Bird

Re: Blender General Questions

Postby iheartibuki » Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:28 pm

It may have been the same video but the one I saw before didn't have text overlays, so the YT user might have updated it just recently. I'll give this a go tonight *crosses fingers*. Only issue I see is that it will leave faces where the mesh was split. I hope they can be separated as loose parts.

Thanks for linking me to this. :D
"They’re not only moron but also Galapagosian Lolita Complexed Chicken."





Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 6519
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:59 am
Location: The Land of the Free
Custom Rank: Fappy Bird

Re: Blender General Questions

Postby iheartibuki » Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:35 pm

Ok, so after carefully following the instructions in the YouTube vid, I was able to split a character's head exactly in half, copy the bone weights from the original, whole head to the side with good weights, then mirrored the head, renamed the weights on the side, then joined the head. When I joined the head, I noticed that there's this line that runs across where I made the split. Is there any way to avoid this? TIA! :)
"They’re not only moron but also Galapagosian Lolita Complexed Chicken."





Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest